17 shortlisted as Regional Winners

A total of twenty-nine (29) nominations of government workers submitted to the 2021 Search for Outstanding Government Workers underwent assessment during the deliberation of the Honor Awards Program – Regional Committee on Awards, Region I (HAP RCA-I) held on 8-10 June 2021. 

Led by RCA-I Chairperson, Director IV Hedy Jose B. Lardizabal, and Vice-Chairperson, Director III Josephine R. Altura both of the Civil Service Commission Regional Office I (CSC RO I), the committee virtually met to assess this year’s batch of nominations across the three (3) awards categories, namely, Presidential Lingkod Bayan (PLB) with one (1), CSC Pagasa with nineteen (19), and Dangal ng Bayan (DNB) with nine (9).

The nominations come from the following agencies, namely, the Provincial Government of Pangasinan and Department of Education – RO I each with eight (8); Department of Social Welfare and Development – Field Office I, and Bureau of Jail Management and Penology – RO I each with two (2); and Bureau of Fire Protection – RO I, Commission on Audit – RO I, Department of Science and Technology – RO I, University of Northern Philippines, and the Local Government Units (LGU) of San Fernando City, and Bacnotan in La Union, and of Urdaneta City, Rosales, and Brgy. Malued, Dagupan City in Pangasinan all each with one (1).

After deliberating based on the qualifications and criteria set forth in CSC Memorandum Circular No. 1, s. 2019 or the Revised Guidelines on the Search for Outstanding Government Workers for 2019 and Years Thereafter, the HAP RCA-I issued Resolution No. 1 on 11 June 2021. Through the said resolution, the regional committee shortlisted the nominees and endorsed seventeen (17) regional winners to the HAP National Secretariat for further deliberation.

The search is an annual activity under the HAP that seeks to recognize and reward state officials and employees for their outstanding contributions and achievements in the delivery of public service.

The criteria for evaluation under the PLB and CSC Pagasa are noteworthiness of performance/contribution, sustainability of contribution, impact of performance/ achievement, reliability and effectiveness, and consistency of performance. Demonstrated teamwork, cooperation, camaraderie, and cohesiveness is an added criterion for group nominations on both categories.

Meanwhile, the criteria for the DNB are quality and consistency of behavioral performance, impact of behavioral performance, risk or temptation inherent in the work, obscurity of position, years of service, and other similar circumstances in favor of the nominee.

The names of the regional winners will be announced in August 2021 via the CSC RO I website and Facebook page. They shall later be given due recognition during the 2021 Regional Recognition and Awards Rites in September 2021 to be organized by CSC RO I as part of the 121st Philippine Civil Service Anniversary (PCSA) celebration.

Other members of the RCA-I are DepEd Region I Director Tolentino G. Aquino, Philippine Information Agency (PIA) Region I Director Jennilyne C. Role, and OIC of the Public Assistance and Liaison Division (PALD), CSC RO I, Rainier G. Repollo. The Regional HAP Secretariat, in-charge of the initial screening of nominations in terms of qualifications and documentary completeness, are Dexter B. Pascua, Jan Vincent N. Jose, and Mark Angelo C. Vinzon, all from PALD, CSC RO I. (pald)